Service Learning: MASC/MAHS Summer Leadership Camp

Screen Shot 2017-03-25 at 10.22.18 PM.pngThis summer I had the opportunity to return to one of my favorite places and volunteer as a junior counselor at MASC/MAHS Summer Leadership Camp.

MASC/MAHS Summer Leadership Camp is a week-long leadership camp for high school students. Students come to camp from all different backgrounds across the state to network with other student leaders, and learn about ways to better themselves, their community, and the world around them.

I spent my second year on staff being a junior counselor for a group of 20 high school students who were experiencing camp for the first year. Throughout the week, my staff partner, Brian, and I led these students through various activities, simulations, and discussions all to help these students further understand the immense need for leadership in our world and how they can make a difference throughout their everyday lives.

This was my 3rd year spent at MASC/MAHS Summer Camp, one as a camper and two on Screen Shot 2017-03-25 at 10.22.32 PM.pngstaff. Every year I take away something new from my week-long experience. This year I was reminded of the importance of being intentional in my relationships with others, and the importance of perseverance through difficult times. I was reminded that no matter where you are in life, the relationships you build with others are the greatest blessing.

I am so grateful for my experience as a 2nd year junior counselor this summer and I can’t wait to return back to camp next summer.

Leave a Reply

